You know it’s time to quit your job when…..

The last few months I’ve lost my drive to go to work and do what I do. Granted being a server is one of the worst jobs in the world, but that’s a whole separate rant! I’ve put off leaving to go to work until the very last moment and can’t get out of work fast enough. Even though I still have bills to pay I’ve been getting rid of shifts and overall spending less time at work.

It’s more than just being sick of the job, it’s that I want to move on to my career. My job offers me more flexibility than a career would to do the things I want to do in life, like travel and relax and spend time with my family and friends, but it’s not enough anymore. I want my career to start so I can start making a difference!

I want to love going to work and I want to want to go to work, and I know that will come once I find a career that I love and that feels like i’m doing something worthwhile with my life. As a server, I basically help people get fat…. That’s not something to look forward to. I want to help save the planet – that is something definitely worthwhile and enjoyable.

So now what? Well i’m already going to graduate school to further my dream of being able to make a difference. I’m constantly meeting new people and creating contacts that will hopefully be people I can reach out to in the future or can help me meet other people. Networking is so crucial these days!

I’ve also been constantly applying for careers for at least the last 3 months and I will continue to do so. It is hard to continue applying though when I haven’t even gotten a single call back, yikes! So I updated my resume and have done some research into creating a phenomenal cover letter (because I absolutely hate writing cover letters!) So hopefully changing these two components will make a difference.

As for my job, I’ll continue to go because bills do need to be paid. But I need to find a way to be happy at work because my job is draining the life out of me and that’s just not good.

Leave a Reply

